Travel Grants

The International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care (IAHPC) and the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) are pleased to announce the winners of Traveling Scholarships to support their travel to the 13th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) in Prague, Czech Republic, May 30 – June 2, 2013.


Both organizations decided to join their grant application and selection process to increase the probability of selecting the best applicants from a varied geographical spread and with different backgrounds.

In total, 73 applications were received which meant that despite the increase in funds many extraordinary applicants had to be turned down. The committees had a difficult time selecting the final list of grantees and we hope that in the future we will be able to increase the funds even more to support many more applicants. Many thanks to all those who applied, for their interest and support.

The total list of the 26 grantees selected by IAHPC and EAPC are:

Mohamad Saab from Beirut, Lebanon
Loubna Al Batlouni from Beirut, Lebanon
Sofia Bunge from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Narine Movsisyan from Yerevan, Armenia
Dimitri Kordzaia from Tbilisi, Georgia
Farzana Khan from Dhaka, Bangladesh
Srinagesh Simha from Karnataka, India
Dinesh Chandra Goswami from Guwahati, India
Shoba Nair from Bangalore, India
Pradnya Talawadekar from Mumbai, India
Mohamad Bushnaq from Amman, Jordan
Doris Xiao from Beijing, China
Gustavo Rodio from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Nazziwa Evelyn Octivia from Kampala, Uganda
Josephine Mary Kabahweza from Kampala, Uganda
Noel Kalanga from Neno, Malawi
Alick Kayange from Daar Es Salam, Tanzania
Jack Turyahikayo from Kampala, Uganda
Jane Bates from Blantyre, Malawi
Vilma Tripodoro from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Artashes Tadevosyan from Yerevan, Armenia
Albert Leka from Lezhe, Albania
Mamak Tahmasebi from Tehran, Iran
Natalia Carafizi from Chisinau, Moldova
Nezamuddin Ahmad from Dhaka, Bangladesh
Elena Sokolova from Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
The scholarships from EAPC were possible thanks to a grant from
the Open Society Foundations.

Open Society Foundations